asmi

Fusion Charts API- free?

Hi all,

I am completely new to Fusion Charts and want to use it for generating interactive reports. I have downloaded a zip from the net called fusioncharts_src.zip from http://www.davidlai101.com/blog/index.php/2009/04/30/fusionchartsjava

This has some examples and classes like ChartFactory.java, ChartType.java, FusionGraph.java and also some script files. Using this, I am able to deploy a simple pieChart. Now my question is that to make use of this in my project, are these the only classes and API Fusion Charts provides and we have to make use of it as needed- or do we need to purchase it so as to get access to the entire Fusion Charts API. Please guide me in this so that I can start exploring this tool. Thanks in advance.

Hi Asmi,

Welcome to FusionCharts And JSP!

Currently, FusionCharts only provides a wrapper to use with JSP, a set of classes for easy usage and an exporter jar for exporting charts as images - there is no official Java FusionCharts API released yet.

To use FusionCharts in JSP, please download the package from FusionCharts website. There are examples with documentation, that come along with the download package. You could easily start off from there.

Hope this helps!

Srividya :)

Edited by Guest

Thankyou Srividya! This really helped me to get going. I have downloaded the FusionCharts V3 package.

I have generated a chart and trying to Export it to pdf. I went through the documentation and followed all steps mentioned there. But there the code uses xml files- SimpleExample.xml- and uses it as a parameter for generating the chart.